Sally Jenkins: “Tebow’s Super Bowl ad isn’t intolerant; its critics are”

Under the headline of “Tebow’s Super Bowl ad isn’t intolerant; its critics are,” well-respected Washington Post sports columnist Sally Jenkins writes today that she thinks that the CBS’ Tim Tebow Super Bowl ad against choice “is one of the better things to happen to young women in some time.” She also essentially writes that she hates feminists.  I have no comment other than to say that I am totally against the ad and CBS’ bias.  Here is how Jenkins starts her column:

I’ll spit this out quick, before the armies of feminism try to gag me and strap electrodes to my forehead: Tim Tebow is one of the better things to happen to young women in some time. I realize this stance won’t endear me to the “Dwindling Organizations of Ladies in Lockstep,” otherwise known as DOLL, but I’ll try to pick up the shards of my shattered feminist credentials and go on.

If you can stomach it, you might try to read the entire column to see if there is anything remotely of value there.  Count me among the feminists who is not “endeared” with Jenkins and her attempt to put down feminism.

6 Responses

  1. No, she ignored CBS’s double standard and relied on strawfeminist arguments. She basically discredited herself by relying on some dumb generalizations and not a main point–that CBS accepted an ad from Dobson’s group but not from a liberal church. Conservative women like Sally Jenkins love to pretend there’s a liberal media, but of course, that’s nonsense.

  2. Um, no. She was ignoring the main point (CBS’s double standard) and engaging in straw(wo)man arguments.

  3. I wrote her an email, and didn’t get a response back. Not sure if responses are even done. But I did post my email to her on RH.

    Enjoy: http://www.rhrealitycheck.org/reader-diaries/2010/02/05/my-response-sally-jenkins-defense-tebow-ad

  4. Someone needs to tell Ms. Jenkins that CBS has rejected ads from liberal groups like the United Church of Christ and MoveOn while accepting an ad from Focus on the Family. Ask her if she thinks this is a double standard.

    Ms. Jenkins automatically discredits herself with the usual “feminists in lockstep” strawfeminist nonsense. Once I got to that part I realized her analysis wasn’t worth much.

  5. I think the whole point is that it’s about allowing perspective and that addresses options. To not allow a different viewpoint than your own is what’s problematic. She didn’t write that she hated feminists – she just expected backlash for stating that there are two sides.

    What she says is right in the sense that we are slapping an athlete’s hand for being the embodiment of self control and character. If there were more men like Tebow in this world, there would be less women out there who are forced to consider abortion as an option.

Leave a Reply

